EN/IEC 61000-3-2

EN/IEC 61000-3-2

Meet harmonics and flicker test standards IEC 61000-3-3 using the same power source. "Electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) - Part 3-2 Limits for harmonic current emissions (equipment input current ≤ 16 A per phase)"

Harmonics & Flicker Classification:

Equipment can be grouped into one of 4 classes based on the following criteria as evaluated by the IEC committee members:

  • Number of pieces of equipment in use (how many (volume) are being used by consumers)
  • Duration of use (number of hours in operation)
  • Simultaneity of use (are the same type of equipment used on the same time frame)
  • Power consumption
  • Harmonics spectrum, including phase (how clean or distorted is the current drawn by the equipment)

After all the above criteria are taken into consideration equipment are classified as follows:

  • Class A
    • Balanced three-phase equipment
    • Household appliances, excluding equipment identified by Class D
    • Tools excluding portable tools
    • Dimmers for incandescent lamps
    • Audio equipment
    • Everything else that is not classified as B, C or D
  • Class B
    • Portable tools
    • Arc welding equipment which is not professional equipment
  • Class C
    • Lighting equipment
  • Class D
    • Personal computers and personal computer monitors
    • Television receivers

Get EMC Compliance Standards Support, Pricing, Lead Time and More: Contact Form

Compare Selected